Nominees announced for 2023 Fenix Outdoor Euro Hockey Awards

The Alliance of European Hockey Clubs (E.H.C.) has announced the nominees for the 2023 Fenix Outdoor & Warrior European Hockey Awards.

Young Player of the Year - presented by Fjällräven
Nominated (in alphabetical order):
Leo Carlsson (Örebro Hockey, SWE) – Led SHL in assists (15) & points (25) for U20 player
Leevi Meriläinen (Kärpät Oulu, FIN) – 5th best Sv% (.918) & GAA (2.02) in Liiga + 2 NHL games
Aku Räty (Ilves Tampere, FIN) – 42pts (11th in Liiga) nearly doubled previous season
David Reinbacher (EHC Kloten, SUI) – 22pts 2nd among NL jr players, tied 20th among D-men at 17
William Wallinder (Rögle BK, SWE) – 21:27 led Rögle & 10th in SHL TOI, 13th in D pts with 26

Coach of the Year - presented by Globetrotter
Nominated (in alphabetical order):
Jan Cadieux (Genève-Servette, SUI) – In first full season behind GSHC bench won club’s 1st ever title
Jörgen Jönsson (Växjö Lakers, SWE) – Team back on top under new coach, won league & playoffs
Tommi Niemelä (Pelicans Lahti, FIN) – Steady progress in 3 seasons, this year Lahti’s 2nd ever final Jussi Tapola (Tappara Tampere, FIN) – Back-to-back Finnish doubles, this year CHL title added
Antti Törmänen (EHC Biel-Bienne, SUI) – Led team to 2nd place & finals despite cancer treatment

Club of the Year - presented by Hanwag
Nominated (in alphabetical order):
Belfast Giants (GBR) – dominated EIHL by winning league, playoffs, Challenge Cup in one season
Genève-Servette (SUI) – first title in club’s 118-year history, first regular season title in 56 years
Oceláři Třinec (CZE) – 4 straight Czech titles, 5 straight finals, heart & soul of a town of 34K
Växjö Lakers (SWE) – 4 titles (including 3 doubles) in last 8 years for club only founded in 1997
Tappara Tampere (FIN) – 11 seasons no worse than 4th, 4 titles, this year’s CHL win makes “treble”

Warrior Career Excellence Award
The Warrior Career Excellence Award is annually presented to the player who during his or her career has best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship and dedication combined with community service and high standard of playing ability. Nominated (in alphabetical order):
Roman Červenka (R-Jona Lakers, SUI) – 2nd straight NL scoring title for 37-year-old Czech captain
Valtteri Filppula (Genève-Servette, SUI) – Triple Gold Club, this year added GSHC’s 1st ever title
Joakim Lindström (Skellefteå AIK, SWE) – SHL top scorer in 2010s, still a force at 39, cult figure
Tomáš Plekanec (Rytíři Kladno, CZE) – Captain of maternal club, at 40 still a top 2-way centre
Patrick Reimer (Nürnberg, GER) – DEL’s all-time goals & points leader, 3x MVP, Olympic silver

Voting is now open on www.eurohockeyclubs.com

The awards will be presented on 13 June at the Annual E.H.C. Awards Dinner in Prague.


More News